This week’s geek craft is something for that friend of yours who really, really likes skulls: a crocheted skull scarf pattern by Wickedcrochet71.

il_570xN.236940421

The pattern is $8 at etsy; and is a cool looking scarf that’s well executed. However, the pattern maker does one of my pet peeves and says, “Items made with this pattern MAY NOT BE SOLD AT ANY TIME.”  If you’ve been following my blog for any length of time, you know how I feel about people trying to exert their dominance over their customers in that way.  I would recommend not buying the pattern.

So, I’m gonna teach you how to make one for free. You can go ahead and sell these for thousands of dollars each. Feel free not to even credit me with the idea.  In fact, go out there and build your skull scarf empire!

Anyway, first you’ll need a skull motif pattern. I recommend kristinskrazyknits free Day of the Dead Skull Motif pattern.  Those skulls are a little small by themselves, but if you use a bigger hook, chunky yarn (or two stands of worsted) they’ll get plenty big.  You could also add another row of single crochet all around the skull to make it spread out a bit.   Make sure to leave a long tail at the bottom of the jaw.

Now, make a bunch of those skulls.  Once  you’ve got a nice pile of them, join them together by whip-stitching the long tail on the jaw to the top of the skull going below it.  You could also slip-stitch them together, but I don’t think it would look as nice.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

