As a bit of a math geek, I love working with the less common shapes.  Specifically, when crocheting, I am not in favor of the granny square.

I avoid granny squares for two reasons.  First, I’m not really a fan of how they look.  Granny squares tend to feature fairly open stitches, and as I dislike open stitches in favor of more compact ones, I’m rather predisposed to dislike the granny square as a construction medium.  Granted, I’ve seen several blankets that use the granny square and use it well, it’s just not something I personally like to work with.

Your typical multi-colored granny square, care of Attic24.

Your typical multi-colored granny square, care of Attic24.

Even some of the cooler granny squares tend to be open, and I just don’t like openness in a stitch.  And the squares that are more compact tend to be done in rows, and those squares tend to look fairly awkward and combine poorly.

Second, they’re very square.  And while squares are typically good fodder for doing pixel art, the openness of the granny square tends to make it a sub-optimal pixel.  And, when you’re left with just a big multi-colored square that you can join to other multi-colored squares, the whole thing tends to feel somewhat generic.  If you search “granny square afghan” in Google, you’ll see that there are a lot of them.  Some of them are very well made with an eye for aesthetics, others not so much.

The nice thing about the granny square is that they are the perfect quick crochet project to get rid of that stash of yarn left-overs.  Indeed, a pile of small, left-over yarn balls can be transformed quickly into a useful component of that scrap afghan that many crocheters inevitably work on.

Now, enter the hexagon.  The crochet granny hexagon is the less-common answer to the square.  It boasts most of the good points of the granny square with almost none of the drawbacks that turn me away.

Crochet Hexagon care of Attic24

Crochet Hexagon care of Attic24

In comparison, the hexagon is far more dense, and it joins together in rows that are offset by half-width, which I find aesthetically pleasing. It reminds me of a blanket that my sister had when we were growing up. It was crocheted in hexagons using a very dense wool. It was thick, heavy, and very warm.

The crocheted hexagon is going in my pool of projects for getting rid of some of my spare yarn.  It would be nice to combine forces with TacoMa’am to make a blanket; however, our drastic difference in crochet tension makes that a highly unlikely and dubious prospect at best.  We’re both better off making our own scrap yarn blankets lest we end up with an afghan that only inspires visions of the homunculus.

In other news: progress on the mail-a-hug crawls inexorably forward.  I’m now finished up through my third full skein of yarn and about to start the fourth.  Currently the scarf is just a hair under 3 1/2 inches in width.  I hope I shall have enough left over to finish the two paw-ends of the scarf once I get to the desired width of 5 inches.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

