Nearly a year ago now, my Sister, Lyle, showed me an impressive youtube video. It featured a cellist playing a Star Wars cover/parody. You may have seen it. If not it’s here.

I was pretty impressed with the cellist, Steven Sharp Nelson, and watched a few more of the small selection of videos associated with ThePianoGuys as they existed then. At that time there weren’t very many at all. I liked what I saw, but with such a limited selection of stuff, I liked them in a “I hope they do more” kinda way.

A week later, I’d moved on.  For nearly a year I went on with my life having pretty well forgotten about ThePianoGuys, despite the positive first impression.

Then, during my parent’s visit a week ago, they showed me one of their newer videos:

It caught my attention, but at the time I was too busy to look further into the videos that they’ve released, so I put it on the back burner.  Yesterday, while watching both the little terrors I like to call my children, I needed some music to help sooth the baby and keep the 3-yo entertained.   I looked up ThePianoGuys and played some of their stuff.  As it happens, I picked Moonlight, a piece inspired by Beethoven’s Moonlight sonata and 7th Symphony. That video caught me.

About an hour later, I’d listened to the vast majority of their videos and had ordered their first Album. Three hours later and I’m beginning to eye up the solo albums of Steven Sharp Nelson and Jon Schmidt.

I have always been a big fan of Classical Modern Fusion, and these guys are among the best I’ve heard for that genre, if not the best. Listening to their music makes me somewhat sad that I stopped playing the violin when I was 18, and even more sad that I never started playing the hammer dulcimer like I promised myself I’d do someday. Even so, I’m mindful that I still have the opportunity to pick up an instrument and start playing again, so I may as well see how much a dulcimer costs these days (As it turns out, you can pick up a 2 1/2 octave dulcimer for around $400, I shall consider that). And, more importantly, I owe it to my kids to make sure they get an eclectic exposure to music, especially given Tron’s enthusiasm for music in general (it’s likely he’ll be getting a keyboard and piano lessons given how enamored he is of the pianos he’s encountered).

I suppose I should start seeing how much season tickets to the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra cost… and see if Blue Man Group is going to be playing in Milwaukee any time soon.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

