We are getting down to the wire at TacoHut.  TacoMa’am is at 39 weeks and Tron Mk2 is set and ready to go (I need to find a new moniker, lest this get confusing).  Hold up one second, let me consult the book of old-school geek.

*Reads through the book*

I’ll put it to you, readers. I have narrowed it down to the following: Link, Robocop, Tesla, or Nightcrawler.

I’ll spare you all the clinical details of what’s going on right now, but suffice to say that we’ll have a baby within the next week.

We’ve got a freezer stocked with about 4-6 weeks of frozen dinners, have moved Tron-the-first upstairs to his new bedroom (a task that turned out to be far easier than previously imagined), and have re-converted Tron’s old room back into the nursery.  We’re just missing one thing at this point: the baby.

We’re both looking forward to having a second child with mixed amount of optimism and dread. We’re hoping that this child is far more laid back than Tron was as a baby.  Or at least it would be nice if he’d sleep more than 5-6 hours a day for the first year.  I’d take either, really.  Most of my dread revolves around Tron adjusting to sharing attention.  Tron is hugely social, and very demanding of attention.  It’ll be a real shock to him when his parents suddenly have to divide attention and occasionally have to ignore him in favor of the baby (because when it comes to a hungry, screaming baby vs. a petulant toddler who wants you to sit on the floor and watch him play, the baby wins).  Tron has never been very good about playing by himself, so we’re in for a rough couple of weeks/months with him.  His lack of language skills are going to make that much worse.

On TacoMa’am’s front she’s looking forward to not being pregnant anymore. Despite what some women say about how awesome it is being pregnant and what a wonderful experience it is, TacoMa’am has had a  truly awful experiences both times, though this one was much worse than the first by a good margin.  So this will be our last child.

I’m holding out a hope that not being the only show in town will inspire Tron to work in his language skills as a bid for more attention, but that’s probably wishful thinking.

Anyway, if my posts start to get sporatic you can assume that the new baby situation is preventing me from developing content.  I’ll do my best to keep up, but I can foresee missing a bunch of posts during the first month or so.  My apologies in advance.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

