A co-worker recently (within the last 6 months) bought himself a smoker to handle all his various smoking needs (Fish, Venison Jerky, Bacon, etc).  He paid just under $300 for it and has been smoking just about everything he can get his hands on with it.  I’m a big fan of smoked foods, so his new smoker has wakened in me the desire to smoke things, things he has yet to smoke (like cheese).  Since I don’t have a smoker myself, I’m living vicariously through his smoker at the moment.  By that, I mean I gave him a load of peppers to smoke for me.

Smoked peppers are awesome, and pretty easy to do.  You smoke peppers for about 8-16 hours, or until they get crispy.  From there you can either keep them as dried peppers, or you can use a spice mill to make your own homemade chili or chipotle powders.

Having another person do it for me is nice and all, but I really need to get my own smoker so I can cater the results to my own exacting standards.  If only there was some cheaper way to get a smoker.

I guess I’m going to need to make some plans to hit the good-will for a spare pan and a clay pot… sometime after I finally get around to finishing that yarn ball winder.  Maybe I can distract the toddler for a few hours by giving him the power drill.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

