Sorry about the spotty updates the last few weeks, once again I had been off on a business trip.  I’m a creature of habit, and these trips disrupt my schedule enough that it makes me forget to do things… like make blog posts.

I had, once again, visited the city of Greenville, SC and while there I attended a two-week training course on one of the pieces of equipment that I’ll be managing.  While in Greenville this time, I discovered a few awesome things.

First, I discovered 5 Guys Burgers and Fries.  Even though I’ve since found that there are a couple of these near me here in Milwaukee, I had never been to one before.  Their food is really good and extremely unhealthy.  One of those places that one indulges in once or twice a year when you need a big ol’ burger and fries dripping in greasy goodness. As somebody who greatly enjoys a good burger, these guys really hit the spot… and clogged it with arterial plaque.  I can’t wait to go there again… in 6 months… after the double-bypass.

Another thing I discovered was an unknown-to-me Southern favorite called Pimento Cheese.  I don’t know why the South is keeping this stuff a secret, but it’s really good.  I’ve since found a recipe or two and plan to make this for the next family get-together.

Finally, while there I found a Bavarian bakery and deli that had very good food (hence my Schnitzel post).  One of the things they offered there that blew my mind was extremely good mustard that they made there at the shop.  I enjoyed this mustard so much that I bought a few jars and brought it home.  Looking at their ingredient list, I noticed that there didn’t seem to be a whole lot of stuff in a good jar of mustard, so I did some searching around on the internet and  I quickly came up with a basic recipe for spicy mustard.  It appears to be rather easy to make mustard myself, and I can cater it to my tastes (like adding dried pepper and good beer to it to give it a little extra taste).  It’s certainly something I’m going to be trying in the near future… once I run out of the mustard from the shop.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

