Since I did Backgammon last week as a blast-from-the-past entry, I decided that this week I’d tackle another oldie: Go.

 

Go is a very old board game that has changed very little in the last 2500 years.   At its core, Go is very simple.  Two players take turns placing stones on a 19×19 grid in an attempt to take the most real-estate by surrounding it.  Things get a little more complicated because if you surround opponents stones, you capture them and count them as points.  This makes Go one of those games that is fairly easy to learn from a rules standpoint, but can take a lifetime to master from the strategy side.  In some parts of the world Go has as much of a following as Chess does.  Indeed, with the rich strategy of Go, it’s not surprising.

I’ve never been much of a go player.  I had a Go set growing up that I played maybe once or twice, but really it wasn’t my thing.  Probably because at the time I was too young to appreciate the subtleties of the game.   Wikipedia actually has a nice introductory strategy entry for Go that will help fill you in on some of the nuances of the game.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

