Last night I finally had an opportunity to pull out the pressure cooker and give it a try.

I can say without fear of contradiction that during my first use of a pressure cooker I certainly didn’t have a clue what I was doing.  As such the lentils/beans came out kinda… meh.  I think my issues were too much water, and some of the pinto beans were too old and didn’t cook correctly.  Even so, I did eventually get the dish completed.  However, a substitution of heavy cream for the milk that’s in the recipe turned out to be a bad choice.

I now have about 2 quarts of what I would call “Cream of Lentil Soup.”  It’s not bad or disgusting, just a far cry from what I was trying to make.  Instead of a spicy Indian dish, I’ve got a subtle creamy soup.  It actually tastes like it would go with cheese and crusty rolls pretty well (as opposed to Nan).

Oh well, I’ll try it again with fresher beans and better pressure cooking knowledge next time.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

