A visitor to my blog requested that I post a picture of the new-style car-seat strap I’d made in an earlier post, so while I certainly went back and did that, I figured a whole follow-up post is merited since I really didn’t do a very good job of describing the process.

So, I made another one and took pictures as I put it together:

What you’ll need:
3 sturdy rings*
1 length of sturdy rope or cord (between 3 and 6 feet long.  closer to 3 if doing a single loop, and closer to 6 if doing a double as shown here)

Oh no!

Your first step is to thread all 3 rings on the cord.  In this case since I’m doubling up the cord for extra strength, I passed the cord through twice.

Depending on the cord, you’ll need between 6 and 12 inches of free cordage on each end to work with for making the triple fisherman’s knot.  Don’t worry about leaving too much as you can feed it back through the knot later.  First you loosely tie the first triple fisherman’s knot, going around both of the passes of the cord.

An overview of the first fisherman’s knot around both loops. I tie this first one somewhat loose so I can adjust how much cord is left on the end just before I tighten it all the way down.

A close-up of the first fisheman’s knot.

Next, take the other free end and make the second fisherman’s knot.

Again, tying the knot loosely so that I can adjust the remaining free end to be as long as I need it.

Once you’ve got both knots formed, go ahead and adjust your free ends until you like the length, and then tighten everything down.

Everything is all tight and I broght my ends in so that they’re about 2″ long. That gives the knots plenty of room to settle a bit without them being too long and dangly.

And there you have it, a completed Car Seat Strap.

It hooks up just like the one I made with the nylon webbing.  Each anchor from the car seat attaches to one of the rings.  Pull it all tight and away you go.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

*This one I made mostly to show the process, I used 3 random rings that I just had laying around.

Here’s a reference on how to tie the triple fisherman’s bend: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8sl5s0fEB30

