There is an American-Italian restaurant near us that has rave reviews online. They’re legendary for their lasagna and their pizza. I even have a co-worker who goes there to feast upon these dishes of Faux-Italian Ambrosia on a regular basis.

My wife and I, with high expectation, placed an order for take-out from this restaurant almost two years ago now. An order of their mythical lasagna and their best-in-show pizza. It was terrible. Their pizza was bland and greasy, had too much cheese and too little sauce, and their lasagna was watery, greasy, and tasteless. We were heartbroken. Doubly so because the best American-Italian restaurant that I’ve ever been to is also in town and we could have gone there instead had we known this other place was going to be a huge let-down.

I just don’t understand how this place gets these reviews. Now, I know that as a Midwest city, Milwaukee is predisposed to liking bland food. It’s one of those places where chili powder is considered super-spicy and 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper in a gallon of chili makes it too hot to eat. But even so, I didn’t expect this super-bland American-Italian restaurant to be so popular.

Wisconsin, I am disappointed in you.

So, my 3 readers, do any of you have a similar story about a huge culinary let-down? If so, please share in the comments!

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

