Last night I was playing Plants Vs. Zombies (because I wrote my Monday’s game about it and decided I needed to play it). When I logged into my Steam account to re-install PVZ, I saw their daily special was a game called Space Pirates and Zombies. It was on sale for $2.50 (regularly $10). I asked TacoMa’am for permission to buy myself the game, at which point she looked at me weird and said, “You can buy yourself a $2.50 game.” That was when I realized that $2.50 is equivalent to two candy-bars and a 20oz soda, and asking for permission to spend that kind of money was silly.

Say hello to my little friend.

Anyway, I had the opportunity to play the game for about an hour yesterday, and so far I think it’s got a lot of promise. It’s certainly plenty of value for $2.50 (heck it’d likely be a good buy at $10). At it’s core it’s an exploration style top-down shooter. But as you get into the game, one realizes that it’s a much deeper experience than just that. It’s a combination of space RPG, top-down shooter, RTS, and political strategy all rolled into one. Plus you get to build and outfit your own armada of ships, which is always a plus in my book.

And hey, Space Zombies!

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

