There are many things that I don’t understand, but one of the more puzzling to me is Girl Scout Cookies.

Boom, glamour shot!

Specifically, why are they so popular? I can understand wanting to support the Girl Scouts, or even buying them out of guilt because you’ve been cornered coming out of the mega-shop-o-mart by a team of cookie pushers, but some people buy boxes of these cookies by the dozen because they’re “OMG GIRL SCOUT COOKIES!” Am I missing something here? The cookies are OK, I guess, but I’ve always found them rather… underwhelming. Most of the flavors aren’t really appealing, the flavors that are appealing tend to be rather dry and processed tasting, and you get like 18 in a box that could easily hold 50 cookies. What’s the draw there? Really, I don’t get it.

I can spend the same money in the store and get either a small to medium container of awesome cookies or a giant, extended family-sized package of moderately tasty cookies. Or, I can buy the ingredients and make several dozen of my own cookies. Again, I understand the desire to give money to the scouts, but many people buy these cookies as if they’re made of chocolate-coated cocaine. They pine all year for “cookie season” and then buy 10 dozen boxes just to hold themselves over for a year. Now, I like cookies quite a bit, but I draw the line way before cookie hoarding.

Surely people must realize that there are way better cookies out there. Maybe it’s an availability thing. By not always being available, people automatically equate Girl Scout Cookies to being a rare treat, perhaps? Anyway, now I really want to bake some cookies.

-Confusion is a state of mind, and don’t call me Shirley.

