I can’t say that I’ve ever really understood Black Friday.

For those who aren’t in the know, in the US on Black Friday (Friday after Thanksgiving) people gather at store parking lots to wait numerous hours (upwards of 10 or 12 sometimes) for opening sales and early bird specials and the like. There used to be stampedes that would lead to people being trampled to death, but with the invent of providing those waiting outside with tickets for said opening specials, the deaths have decreased in recent years.

Perhaps the phenomenon is a weird mixture of holiday desperation and herd mentality. Perhaps people really aren’t aware that waiting 10 hours to save 50 bucks on a stereo system isn’t that good of a deal. Maybe people really like waiting in lines because it’s fun. Maybe, even, it gives participants an excuse to look at marginally good deals and say “WOW! I’m saving money!” Or, more likely, people just have a lot of time on their hands and aren’t scared to waste it. In any case though, I still don’t get it. Personally, I’ve never been able to save enough money on Black Friday shopping to make the hassle worth it. Certainly I wouldn’t save much more than I would shopping around online, and shopping online doesn’t require me to camp out in a cold parking lot that reeks of desperate holiday shopping. Otherwise, if I DO need to go to a store to get something, watching the more mundane sales often results in a similar price anyway.

At the end of the day, I’d rather spend my morning (or indeed, midnight) sleeping, and I’d rather spend the 6 hours leading up to the opening of the store also sleeping. And in the case of the midnight openers, I’d rather spend Thanksgiving evening curled up on the couch playing video games, reading, or crocheting.

Or, as I did last night, feeling ill and going to bed early. Fun times.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

