This week’s webcomic is Sorethumbs by Owen Gieni and Chris Crosby.

Sorethumbs is yet another webcomic that has its roots solidly in video game humor. However, unlike many of the other gaming based webcomics Sorethumbs also makes a lot of political commentary as well, mostly through the interactions of two of the main characters who represent extreme viewpoints of the political spectrum. Further, unlike most video game comics, Sorethumbs is based on a continuing plot rather than being a collection of one-shot gag strips.

I was really torn about posting Sorethumbs on my blog here because, though the comic starts out pretty strong, it jumps the shark pretty hard towards the end of the first incarnation. After this first incarnation, the comic does a reboot, where it basically revises some of the initial conditions of the comic and starts again. While the comic does pick up full color strips in this reboot, I’ve never felt that the new timeline lives up to the humor of the original incarnation. As such I’ve stopped reading it regularly and just catch up once every few months. I’m very close to bumping it from my comic list entirely, though there have been a few gems in the new reboot that have kept me coming back every once in a while to see if it has gotten better.

I recommend going back to the first comic and reading forward.  Once you hit the part where the comic jumps the shark (and believe me, you can’t miss it), you may want to stop.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

NOTE: Sorry for getting this up late today, toddler based delay.

