Every November is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). As an aspiring novelist, my wife has been participating since 2008, and has succeeded in the 50,000 word goal in 2 out of the three years that she’s done it. She didn’t make the goal in 2009 due to a small, cranky program who whines for the users… and candy.

She’s been a big fan of the project and has donated to them as well as purchased some of the swag. She even got me doing it last year, and I’m happy to report that I stormed past the goal and hit around 65,000 words before running out of steam. Originally I’d planned on doing it again this year, but with late summer/fall being so busy and contributing to two blogs (Mine and LoD), I just don’t see myself doing NaNo this year. At least not as it’s intended to be done

However, that’s not to say that I’m not going to write. I’ve got a lot of projects that need finishing, two blogs that need buffers, and a few other low-priority things that I haven’t even started. As such, I’m declaring this year’s NaNoWriMo as “Taco’s project productivity month!” (TaProProMo?).

I’ll be forgoing the word count requirement in favor of “productivity hours.” In order to succeed at NaNoWriMo you need to type 1,600 words per day on average (more for me because of hunting season taking 5-8 days where I’m indisposed to typing). For me, typing 1,600 words takes between 1 and 1.5 hours depending on how much of a roll I’m on (I can type 90-120 wpm if I’m going flat out, but having to consider plot and stuff usually slows me to around 25-30 wpm). Giving myself less credit than my typing ability perhaps deserves, I’ll say that I would be spending 1.5 hours per day on NaNoWriMo, which comes out to a total of 45 project productivity hours for November

So, my goal is that during the month of November I will dedicate an average 1.5 hours a day to my unfinished projects and blog posts. I’ve outlined my result goals as follows:

  1. Get my Yarn Ball Winder write-up caught up to my current level of completion.  This includes getting the pictures sorted, the CAD drawings completed, and the steps outlined; as well as some editing.  Ideally I’d also like to get the winder itself finished, but that’s optional.
  2. Get an 8-post (2 month) buffer for Library of the Damned.
  3. Get a 10-post (2 week) buffer for my blog here.
  4. Complete the first draft of my abandoned YSaC Seuss-inspired poetry book (1/3 of the way completed so far).
  5. Optional (if I have extra time): start the write-up for the compost tumbler that TacoFather and I built last Summer.
  6. Optional: do some of my crochet projects that I need to get done by January.  Technically not writing, but I’ve been putting these off too.  Especially lining my plarn super-bag.

As you can see, much to do.  I anticipate that 45 hours is nowhere near enough time to accomplish all of that.  I’m giving the highest priority to my Yarn Ball Winder project, as I’ve really been putting that off all summer due to the obscenely large amount of work it is going to take just to organize all the pictures and get the CAD drawings done.  I’ve actually got most of the write-up for it done already, it’s just the photo work is horribly daunting.

The buffer work for the two blogs will be weighted in favor of LoD because those posts take longer and are way more wordy than posts here.  A 10-post buffer for my blog here might only take me 4-5 hours depending on if I feel like uploading my own pictures or have problems thinking up topics.  These buffers are mostly designed to take some of the pressure off myself in December since it should be pretty busy for me.  Ideally I’d like to maintain those buffers, but I know that is wishful thinking.

The YSaC poem book is a project that I started over a year ago and got about 1/3 of the way through before getting stuck.  I really need to sit down with it and un-stick myself and get a first draft out there to some of the volunteers who want to proof it for me.  The idea is to eventually get it published for either revenue for YSaC or a charity of their choice.

As for the compost tumbler, that’s a write-up that I’ve been putting off for a while but just haven’t found the time or the energy to start.  Same goes for the crochet projects, though those mostly because Tron and Vir love yarn and can’t help themselves if I try to crochet around them.  It is very annoying to try to crochet with a toddler and cat pulling on your work or unraveling the yarn ball across the floor.

I’ve left my video game goal unlisted because it isn’t a project, but rather just a goal.  I’d like to finish my current video game and get at least 75% of the way through the next one on my list in November.  I’m very near the end of my current game (last chapter… around 5-8 hours  of play left) and only need to complete 1 more after that to make my goal of bringing the number of my unplayed games down to under 10 by the end of December (not counting Christmas, as that allows for only 6 days to catch up).   My long term goal is getting down to 0 unplayed/completed video games by January 2014.  We’ll see how that goes given that there are a lot of good games out there that I still want to get, and a bunch more coming out in the next year.

So yes, much to do in November.  Especially with my parents visiting for 4 days, hunting season taking 8 more, and Thanksgiving in there too.  Busy busy.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

