This Monday’s game is the very first feature of a game I didn’t really like, Angry Birds.

Angry Birds is a wildly popular iPhone game released in December of 2009 produced by Rovio. It is, unfortunately, a conceptual rip-off of a flash game made by Armor Games called Crush the Castle which was released 8 months before Angry Birds and sports a suspiciously similar game mechanic of lobbing stuff at structures to kill the things inside.

The basic gameplay of Angry Birds is pretty simple: You have a collection of varying birds which must be used to break through or knock down structures in order to kill the pigs inside the structures. Each variety of Angry Bird behaves differently, some you just lob and hope you hit something, others you click while they’re in the air to activate their secondary abilities (such as splitting into 3 birds, or charging the structure with a high speed ram).

Die Piggy!

As I mentioned before, I’m not really a fan of this game. And I’m not entirely sure how it ever became as popular as it did. It’s possible that my dislike of the game stems mostly from the fact that I’d played both the Crush The Castle games first and found Angry Birds to be very similar yet lacking in fine control. So far as its popularity is concerned, I contribute that mostly to being the first half-way decent phone game to be made. Most phone games before Angry birds were little more than puzzle games that had been ported to the phone as kleaky clones of much better puzzle games (Pipe dream, Tetris, Bust-a-Move, and Bejeweled being popular games to knock-off for phone clones). Angry Birds was one of the very first games made specifically for smartphones with any kind of reasonable production.

As I didn’t, until recently, have a smart phone, I didn’t really know what all the hype was about. Recently, Angry Birds was ported to Google Chrome and I finally had the opportunity to play it; I still don’t know what all the hype is about. But I will say, the one good part of the game is listening to the birds make their weird noises. The birds going “YEAAAAHHHHHHHH EHHAHAHAHA!” is, unfortunately, the best part of the game for me.

Many people like this game, some like it a lot, and others are obsessed. They are entirely allowed, as I’m sure I love games that they loathe. Play what you like to play, and damn the world if they don’t like it. For my part, though, I’ll be playing something else.

-Confusion is a state of mind, YEAAAAAAHHH EHAHAHAHAAHA!

