As I’ve mentioned before, I can’t knit… but I’ve seen a lot of projects that make me want to learn how. This is one of them: Jayne Cobb’s Hat by Keiyla Renee.

Those who’ve seen Firefly know which hat I’m referring to, but for those who need help I present you with exhibit a:

The man they call Jayne... in his cunning hat.

A man walks down the street in that hat, people know he’s not afraid of anything.
-Wash

This hat has taken the geek crafting world by storm. If you search around online you can find literally dozens of reproductions and a handful of patterns both free and for sale. Of the ones I’ve seen, the one developed by Keiyla Renee strikes the closest and truest to the original Cobb Hat:

Now that's a cunning hat!

The only real difference is that the hat in Firefly was actually rather old and used as opposed to being newly made as the show claimed. With some wear (or putting it through the wash a few times) the yarn would felt out a little and the reporduction would slowly begin to more adequately match Jayne’s hat. The use of wool fibers and some light felting would also close the gap a bit too.

I wonder how hard it is to learn how to knit…

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

