The title pretty much says it all. There are many movies that I’m told I should like, but do not.

For instance, I’m a big fan of action movies in general. But, whenever action movies are being spoken of, Pulp Fiction comes up. I didn’t really like the movie, despite many a friend insisting that it was brilliant. Now, I didn’t take issue with the profanity or the violence, or even the fact that they used pretty lukewarm actors. The problem with the movie for me was that I found it boring. It failed to hook me in a significant way, the action felt melodramatic and tired, and the dialogue was pretty forgettable, and the plot was anything but special. Honestly, I just thought the movie was dull and contrived. I didn’t hate it, I just couldn’t bring myself to be entertained by it. (And for comparison, I like the movie Running Man, so for me not to like an action movie there has got to be something almost fundamentally wrong with it.*)

But as all things, opinnions differ. Another movie I’m supposed to have liked was Caddyshack. A piece of comedic genius for all eras, so I was told. Frankly, I never really found much to laugh at, even given a cast of people whose movies I generally like. Caddyshack judy seemed to have everything wrong in my eyes. The jokes were old and stilted, playing a lot like a meme collection than a movie in its own right, the plot was wholly forgettable, the characters were uninteresting, and really the whole package was rather boring and derivative rather than funny. I’ve seen it 3 times, and I can’t make myself like the movie. I tried very hard to like it, I really did. I just can’t.

Another movie like that was Napolean Dynomite. I’ve been told many times that I just didn’t get this movie. Perhaps that’s true, I must not have gotten it because I found the movie beyond dull. Obviously whatever was so brilliant about the movie passed me right by. I understood why it was supposed to be funny… it just wasn’t. It didn’t even succeed at being amusing nor did it stir hatred or intense dislike in my soul. It was merely uninteresting, like watching a documentary on napkin folding. You can’t hate something like that because it really just doesn’t stir that level of emotion. I ended up loosing 96 minutes of my life bored to absolute tears when I watched this movie that should apparently be on my top 10 geek humor movies of all time.

On the other hand, I’ve liked movies that I’m told that I probably wouldn’t like. Such as Chocolate. I honestly have no idea why I like this movie. It fits into many categories of movie that I don’t like, stars actors that I don’t particularly like or dislike, and has a plot that shouldn’t really get my attention. Yet, entirely despite myself, I like the movie. It’s almost a guilty pleasure for me to watch it as I know my wife delights in the fact that I so grudgingly like this movie.

And then there are movies that I shouldn’t like. Waterworld, Escape from LA, No Escape, and Soldier to name a few. These movies are horrible. The acting is terrible, the premises are terrible, the sets are cheap.. and terrible, the plots are cliche, and the dialogue is HORRIBLE. Yet despite all this, I enjoy watching them. I think part of it is just liking to watch something so entirely stupid and brainless that it requires really nothing more than being partially concious; and the other half is making fun of the movie while I watch it. Hell, Waterworld pretty much makes fun of itself, so it takes very little effort to snark at it for an hour and a half.

And then there are movies that nobody should like, such as Battlefield Earth. There’s a movie that’s made for riffing on. I actually know a person who likes this movie… and I honestly can’t imagine why. I had the… pleasure? of seeing this movie in the theater. It’s the only time I wanted to ask for my money back at the end of a movie.

Not sure where this was going, it was all just based on a comment that I heard the other day: “You’re a geek, so you should like this movie.” If there is one thing I’ve always said about the word should it’s that the word leads down a road of tears and disappointment. It takes all kinds, I guess.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

*Fun fact: FatherTaco and I both watched Pulp Fiction and found it wholly boring. However, we both enjoyed Running Man probably more than two people should. Maybe it runs in families.

