This weeks game is another oldie, and one I don’t often get to play Cribbage.

If you haven't seen one of these, you probably need to get out a little more.

Dating back to 17th Century England, cribbage has been around for a while now, and is one of those games that is simple to learn but has a subtlety of play that can require years to master. Each play not only counts as its own play, but towards the plays immediately before and after it. But more than that, you score points based on what cards you don’t play… and the dealer gets points based on what you discard before play even begins. So there are layers of play that must be considered are numerous. You have to consider which cards you discard in order to minimize the chances of the dealer getting points from them (or if you’re the dealer, discarding those cards which will most likely help). Then you have to consider the composition of the hand you keep, maximizing the points retained; and then you have to play those cards to score additional points. Really, it’s quite a game if you stop to think about it.

I’ve been a huge fan of cribbage since I learned it at the age of 12 on a fishing trip with my father, yet I so rarely get to play it any more. I think it’s about time I dig out my old set and play another hand. Maybe I should teach TacoMa’am how to play.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

