This weekend’s webcomic is Eerie Cuties!

Eerie cuties is a manga-style comic put together by a team lead by Gisèle Lagacé. Eerie Cuties was started in 2009 and is still running with a Monday and Wednesday update schedule. There are also a spinoff: Magic Chicks. It’s a decent webcomic in itself, but I haven’t really warmed to it as the humor is a bit different and I identify with the characters much less.

I’ll be the first to admit the Eerie Cuties is a guilty pleasure for me. I don’t normally like this kind of comic, so for me to be such a fan of it is strange for me. Specifically the “Teenage girls in highschool” mangas generally don’t pique my interest at all; especially ones seemingly built on the recent popularity of vampries and werewolves.

However, something in Eerie Cuties just works. The characters, while fairly flat and cliché, are done well as a group so there is less focus on any kind of invidual character growth and more focus on their zany interactions. The humor is well done as well and very accessable to even the skeptical reader (as I was). The story arcs are engaging, but simple and free of melodrama that often overpower the humor of comics of this style.

 

As always, I prefer to let a comic speak for itself, so go read some.  It’s not going to be for everyone, but I think that most people will be surprised by this comic.

-Confusion is a state of mind, or is it?

